Socializing with the Anti-Social

I think Lindemann, Nelson, and Bishop and Starkey all emphasize the social interaction that is necessary to produce a good piece of writing.  Specifically, Nelson discusses the many metaphorical and literal conversations she had in her journey to write the perfect paper.  Around page 290, she tells about knocking on her dorm-mates’ doors and requesting their presence at dinner and then jumping into a dialogue about Tolkien.  Now, maybe this friendly dinner for thought didn’t completely solve Nelson’s writing dilemma, but I think she suggests that listening to outside opinion can almost reinvigorate one’s compositional attempt.

Now, Lindemann’s approach (33) suggests that writers are in fact interacting with society simply by writing.  The writing process includes researching what it’s like living in the world and understanding what the reader is looking for.  So, even if the writer is sitting alone in his own personal space, he is not isolated.  The single fact that the writer lives in our society makes writing a social endeavor.

On page 72 of Creativity, Bishop and Starkey address a similar concept that is developed by incorporating the social reception of a written piece.  A self-admitted crazy may write something that the public perceives to be absolutely genius and profound; subsequently elevating the status of that once nutty person who just liked to write a lot of creative, off-beat stuff.  So, writing is undoubtedly a social art, because one must operate within society to grasp what society wants to read.  And, as the first writer discussed, bouncing ideas off of her peers in order to combat the roadblock she was facing, was a social aspect of writing that really worked.

In order to illustrate my own social interactions regarding writing, I need to make it known that I really do not share a lot of my ideas; I’m the crazy with a caffeine addiction who works alone.  Interestingly, I will sometimes post my essays on my blog so my friends can take a look at them—not because I want constructive criticism, but because I just like to see how my writing is received.  I think my thoughts about writing as a social art is most aligned with the beliefs expressed by Lindemann.  I take time to think about the reader and what people like to read and I spend time in the role of the reader.  I think writers are also social, in that they belong to writing discourses.  More often than not, I like to argue and that’s my niche.  One can’t argue without being a little social, can they not?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

